Multan Sultans defeated Lahore Qalandars by 28 runs and made it to final | PSL 7

In the first qualifier of Pakistan Super League 7, Multan Sultans defeated Lahore Qalandars by 28 runs and made it to the final. In the match played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Lahore Qalandars won the toss and elected to field. Multan Sultans scored 163 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Lahore Qalandars scored 135 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in pursuit of the target of 164 runs. Fakhr Zaman’s aggressive 63 runs did not help the team either.

Multan Sultans defeated Lahore Qalandars by 28 runs

Kamran Ghulam (20), Abdullah Shafiq (5), Harry Brooks (13), Samat Patel (11), Phil Salt (1), David Wiese (8), and Shaheen Afridi (1) were all dismissed by Lahore Qalandars. Muhammad Hafeez returned to the pavilion without scoring a run. For Multan Sultans, Shahnawaz Dahani bowled brilliantly and bowled 3 wickets for 19 runs in 4 overs.

Earlier, Multan Sultans’ first two wickets fell to 50 runs, but captain Mohammad Rizwan and Riley Russo batted responsibly to take the team’s score to 163 runs in the allotted 20 overs, a partnership of 113 runs between the two, Mohammad Rizwan remained unbeaten on 53 and Riley Russo on 65.

Multan Sultans defeated Lahore Qalandars by 28 runs and made it to final | PSL 7

Shahnawaz Dhani was declared the best player of the match for his excellent bowling performance. The Lahore Qalandars will have another chance to reach the final. They will face the winner of the first Eliminator on Thursday, February 24. The winning team will face the Multan Sultans in the final on Sunday, February 27.

Two changes have been made in Lahore Qalandars, Abdullah Shafiq and Samat Patel have been added in place of Sohail Akhtar and Fawad Khan while Johnson Charles will be part of the team in place of Tim David in Multan Sultans.

The Lahore Qalandars squad

Shaheen Afridi (captain), Fakhr Zaman, Abdullah Shafiq, Kamran Ghulam Muhammad Hafeez, Harry Brook, Phil Salt, David Wiese, Samat Patel, Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan.

The Multan Sultans squad:

Muhammad Rizwan (captain), Shaun Masood, Riley Russo, Johnson Charles, Khushdal Shah, David Willie, Amir Azmat, Asif Afridi, Roman Raees, Imran Tahir, and Shahnawaz Dhani.

Related stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news